The Lincoln Theatre Guild was formed in 1981 with 15 members. The first guild activity was an acting workshop, which was followed by the first production, "Harvey." The first guild president was Barrie Howard. A notable early production was "Prelude to victory," a musical drama telling the story of the a revolutionary war battle fought nearby. In 1983, a successful production of "Scrooge," a musical adaption of Dickens' "A Christmas Carol" helped give the guild a stable financial base. The group grew throughout the 1980s, performing dramas, comedies and musicals. Some shows included "Mouse Trap," "Harvey," and "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown." In 1988, the group moved their offices and productions to the Lincoln Cultural Center, a renovated former church in Lincolnton, North Carolina. By 1990 the guild was producing a large summer musical each year at the nearby Lincoln Citizens Center as well as 3-4 smaller plays at the Cultural Center.

In 2007 the guild board was restructured. A new president and several new board members were appointed. Recent shows include Alice in Wonderland , Dearly Departed , The Actor's Nightmare, Li'l AbnerAnd Then There Were None,  The Wizard of Oz , The CrucibleThe Rocky Horror Show, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof , Grease, Mr. Scrooge, Cotton Patch Gospel, Seussical, Footloose,The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, Miss Abigail's Guide to Dating, Mating, & Marriage, Peter Rabbit, The Beverly Hillbillies, The Lion,The Witch and the Wardrobe, and Once Upon A Mattress.


Executive Board of Directors

President - Joanna Underwood

Vice President- H. Michael Wirth

Secretary- Matt Burton -  Secretary  

Treasurer-   Lori Wise 



2019-2020 Board of Directors

  • Joanna Underwood - President 

  • H. Michael Wirth- Vice President

  • Matt Burton:  Secretary & Corporate, Underwriter Relations 

  • Lori Wise- Treasurer 

  • Tanya Hager - Director of Volunteers

  • Larry Turner

  • Hollen Carpenter

  • Martin Reynolds

  • Paige Rice

  • Denise McCoy

  • Neil Underwood

  • Dean Wise

  • Darrell King

  • Cynthia Schmidt

  • Joey Nuhfer




 Lincoln Theatre Guild Board of Directors meets every third Monday of the month at 7pm.  Meetings are located at the Lincoln Cultural Center located at 403 E. Main Street, Lincolnton, NC.  Meeting is open to the public.



Mailing Address & Physical Address:

403 East Main Street

Lincolnton NC 28092

Joanna Underwood, President

H. Michael Wirth, Vice President

Cynthia Schmidt, Secretary

Lori Wise, Treasurer

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Clean
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2020 Lincoln Theatre Guild